What happens when you block someone on Facebook Messenger?

Facebook is offering a number of privacy-focused features to counter the growing spam on its platform. Annoying contacts can be befriended; You can restrict them from your profile and even block contacts from reaching you through Messenger. Among all personal features; The ability to restrict someone is a neat add-on to protect your profile from spam messages and calls. But do you want to know what happens when you block someone on Facebook Messenger?

If you don’t want to completely block someone on Messenger. You can always limit them and protect your profile from their prying eyes. Here’s how you can block someone on Messenger and its implications.

How to block someone on Facebook Messenger?

Before talking about limited functionality in Facebook Messenger, Let us show you step by step how to use it.

Note: Facebook uses a similar UI on Messenger for iOS and Android. The steps to block someone on Messenger are the same on both platforms. We’ll use the Messenger app for iOS as an example here.

Step 1: Open the Messenger app on your Android or iPhone.

Step 2: Select a contact and conversation you want to restrict.

Step 3: Click the contact name at the top.

Step 4: Select ‘Restrict’ under Privacy & Support.

Messages and phone calls

When you block someone on Messenger, You will not receive any notifications when that person sends a message. Your phone won’t ring when the recipient calls you on Messenger.

You can’t send a message or call a person. You need to restrict the person before sending the message (explained later).

About previous messages

When you use the limit function; Facebook hides your current chat thread in the Messenger app. You will no longer see new messages in the default Chats tab. You can find the contact’s name at the top and open the conversation to check all new and previous messages.

Facebook will not delete past messages. The app hides them from the main tab. When you create a new chat group in Messenger; The app warns you about restricted accounts on Facebook (if you try to add them to a group).

Can a restricted person see my Facebook status?

The ability to limit someone is a personal feature. You only limit people’s access to your profile and other online activities. A restricted contact won’t be able to see when you’re online or have read their messages. You won’t be able to see them when they’re online.

Does the recipient know when to restrict them?

As mentioned above, restriction is one of the privacy features in Facebook. The company doesn’t send any notifications when you block someone on Messenger.

Am I a friend with a limited account?

You’ll remain friends with restricted accounts on Messenger. Facebook will not automatically unfriend someone.

Can a restricted person see my messages?

Restricted people can see all previous posts, but not any new posts on Facebook.

How to Check Restricted Accounts on Facebook

If you change your mind and don’t want to restrict someone on Facebook, you can review the list of restricted accounts to make the necessary changes. Here’s what you need to do.

Step 1: Open Messenger on your phone.

Step 2: Click your profile picture in the top left corner.

Step 3: Select Privacy.

Step 4: Click Restricted accounts.

Step 5: Select the name of the Facebook friend you don’t want to restrict.

Step 6: Confirm the same from the menu below.

Repeat the same for all contacts on Facebook to unblock them.

What is the difference between Block and Restrict in Messenger?

Blocking someone makes you invisible to that person on Facebook. They cannot see your profile; sending messages; initiate voice/video calls; checking online status; You cannot be friends on the platform. Even after restricting someone, Facebook can’t solve the spam problem and can take it to the extreme and block the recipient.

Like the Facebook restriction. The platform will not notify people when you block them. To learn more Check out our guide to limiting and blocking Messenger.

Limit to mute in Messenger.

Muting someone mutes all incoming messages and calls from that person in Messenger. You can still see the latest incoming messages in the main chats tab. At the same time, Limiting someone completely obscures the conversation.

Unlike limited accounts, mutes can see your active status and all future posts on Facebook, and can even add you to a group chat.

The limiter is a good balance between quiet and blocky.

The limit function in Messenger gets the best of Mute and Block add-ons and offers a great solution to keep your Facebook account spam-free. If you have other questions about blocking someone on Facebook, Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Comment