How to use iCloud Shared Photo Library on iPhone?

If you often share photos with friends and family, iCloud Shared Photo Library in iOS 16 could be the perfect add-on. Apple lets you create a shared library in the Photos app and share it with loved ones for a seamless collaboration experience. Here’s how to set up and use iCloud Shared Photo Library on your iPhone.

Your invited members to iCloud Shared Photo Library can edit photos; Adding remove You can add captions and favorite images. All collaborators have the same level of edit permission. Interesting to hear, isn’t it? Let’s get started.

iCloud Shared Photo Library requirements

You must be running iOS 16 or later on your iPhone (or iPadOS 16 on iPadOS 16) to check the iCloud Shared Photo Library option in Settings. iCloud Photo Sharing should also be enabled on your iPhone to enable the feature.

Update your iPhone to iOS 16.

iOS 16 update brings a redesigned lock screen; Continuity Camera, System apps are now officially available for everyone with many improvements and other features.

Step 1: Launch the Settings app on iPhone.

Step 2: Drag and drop to General.

Step 3: Select Software Update.

Step 4: Download and install the iOS 16 update from the menu below.

If you encounter any issues with iOS 16 installation, please refer to our troubleshooting guide to resolve the issue.

Turn on iCloud Photos Syncing.

The system will not enable the ‘Shared Library’ option until you have synced all media files to the iCloud platform. First, make sure you have enough space on your iCloud account.

If you’re running low on iCloud storage, buy iCloud+ or one of the Apple One plans. You can follow our specific guide to free up iCloud storage on your iPhone.

Step 1: Open the Settings app on iPhone.

Step 2: Go to your profile and select iCloud.

Step 3: Open Photos and enable this iPhone sync from the menu below.

Invite participants to iCloud Shared Photo Library.

Let’s invite your friends and family to iCloud Shared Photo Library.

Step 1: Open the Settings app on iPhone.

Step 2: Scroll down to Photos.

Step 3: Select ‘Shared Library’.

Step 4: Click Start and select ‘Add Participants’.

Step 5: Enter the participant’s name and click Add at the top.

Step 6: Click Next to select photos.

Step 7: There are three options for moving photos to a shared library.

All my photos and videos: This will share your entire iCloud photo library with others.

Select by people or date: It’s a great option to share images only between specific dates. Let’s say you want to share photos from last week’s vacation. Select a date or people’s faces and share with a close group.

Choose yourself: Manually select multiple photos to share.

Step 8: Select the appropriate option and click Next.

Step 9: Photos from the menu below; Click the people or date range and click Add.

Step 10: Before sharing, Click on ‘Pre-shared library’ to avoid private or hidden images in it. Then click Continue in the upper right corner.

Step 11: Invite via messages or WhatsApp; Telegram Create a shareable link to send in an alert or email.

You can only have one shared library, and anyone who creates it gets iCloud storage for everything. If your participants add hundreds of photos and videos to a shared library. This will consume iCloud storage on your account.

Capture and share photos directly to a shared library.

When taking new photos, You can send them directly to a shared library. That way, you don’t have to manually select and share them.

Step 1: Open Camera on iPhone.

Step 2: Click the library icon in the upper left corner.

Start taking photos and sharing them with iCloud Photos Shared Library.

Edit a shared library.

at any time You can add new participants to the shared library or even delete it to create a new one.

Step 1: Open Settings on iPhone.

Step 2: Scroll to photos.

Step 3: Select Shared Library.

Step 4: Click ‘Add participants’ to invite more members to the group.

iOS allows you to create one Shared Library at a time. To create a new library; A new one must be deleted and set up from scratch.

Step 5: From the same menu, select Delete Shared Library.

When you delete a shared library, you can choose which photos and videos you want to keep. These items will be added to your Personal Library. Other participants will automatically save all content to the shared library.

Select the relevant option and confirm your decision.

Share your memories.

iCloud Shared Library is Apple’s take on the sharing capabilities of Google Photos. It’s not as robust as Google’s implementation, but iCloud Shared Library does it. How do you plan to use it? Share in the comments below.

Leave a Comment